Confused by fruit

rebowe1308

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
hi
I was diagnosed t2d near 4 weeks ago. I have been losing weight for the past 12 months calorie counting with my fitness pal.
Since diagnosed, I am conscious of absolutely every thing I am eating and amazed by the amount of carbs in absolutely everything, even lettuce !!
Anyway, I always have a small banana, an apple and a large orange through the day. Since seeing the carbs in a large orange I have demoted it to a satsuma.
I am so confused though as when I enter my food diary into my fitness pal each day my sugar is always over the 25g because of the fruit.
I have searched and searched and I can’t seem to find a clear answer when googling
Would someone be able to give me an idea as to whether I should be eating my fruit each day ?
Thank you

Listlad

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I love fruit. And always ate tons of it. But unfortunately they contributed to my higher HbA1c readings etc. So I have cut fruit intake down to very low levels now. Many including bananas in particular are high in sugar and carbs. If you google the fruits individually you will see which carry the higher levels of carbs. Some like strawberries and raspberries are more acceptable unless on a very low carb diet.

M

Member496333

It’s called nature’s candy for a reason. Fructose is metabolised exclusively by the liver. It not only increases insulin resistance, but it’s also a leptin inhibitor, thus blunting satiety and making us want more and more. Evolutionarily its purpose is to help us store energy for times of hardship (winter).

Fruit is now bred to be super sweet, and it’s also available 24/7/365. Ancestrally inappropriate in its modern guise and sheer quantity of availability Best avoided/moderated if you already have T2DM or don’t want it. Only in my considered opinion, of course. If people want to eat fruit then they will.

CondorX

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type