Counting carbs vs. eyeballing

ariez

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to this place so I'll quickly introduce myself - I'm 25, male, from Austria, and I've been diagnosed with Type 1 last October (it's almost been a year - time flies..) Nice to meet you all.

For me, one of the biggest struggles has been figuring out the correct amount of insulin to inject before a meal. I used to just eyeball it for a while but of course if you make a bad guess you can end up in a really uncomfortable spot. So I switched to weighing and counting everything before every meal which then again is pretty cumbersome. So as a noob, I was wondering how everyone is dealing with this in practice? Any tricks, apps, methods, special diets, whatever? Or do you just skip weighing and get better at eyeballing?

Grant_Vicat

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Dislikes
Intolerance, selfishness, rice pudding
Hi @ariez I used to weigh for quite a while before eventually eyeballing. It works well until your brain decides to underestimate what a potato the size of a hen's egg really looks like. I used to do random spot checks with such foods. Medium sliced bread is easier, and fixed cereal portions in individual portions or like Weetabix stays the same. Good luck!

Reactions: Rose22

Grant_Vicat

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Dislikes
Intolerance, selfishness, rice pudding
Hi everyone, I'm completely new to this place so I'll quickly introduce myself - I'm 25, male, from Austria, and I've been diagnosed with Type 1 last October (it's almost been a year - time flies..) Nice to meet you all.