Diabetes T2 and shingles

Lazycat6

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi I am type 2 diagnosed March Hba1c 103 now down to 41,diet controlled only now, but have just been diagnosed with shingles, v painful and spreading, just started antivirals anyone else had this and did they avoid complications?

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I’m type 2 and had shingles a couple of years ago. I am a retired infectious diseases nurse so recognised it early and got antivirals very quickly, I had no complications. Let us know how you get on.

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I have Type 1 and “caught” shingles a couple of years ago.
The pharmacist diagnosed it and I got anti virals on the third day.
The pain lasted about a week and I experienced no complications.

Reactions: Rachox

LivingLightly

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Congratulations on achieving a much improved HbA1c result in 7 months.

I am type 2 diabetic and developed shingles in early 2015, but thankfully no complications.
It's a painful and debilitating illness. I hope your GP has prescribed effective pain relief.

Last edited:

Outlier

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Yes and yes. I wouldn't recommend shingles to anyone but it ran its course in a textbook manner and I took no meds for it at all.

Reactions: LivingLightly

CatsFive

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Years ago, I got it in the back of my head and the edge of my ear. It started on a Friday, by Monday when I saw a doctor he said that unfortunately it was too late after the onset for drugs to make a difference. It wasn't too bad when I was awake & upright, but it kept waking me at night every time I rolled on the affected area.

I do get the odd cold sore and start treating that as soon as I get a 'strange' feeling in my lip, and I'll be putting my arm out for the shingles vaccine as soon as I can.