Driving

steve_2015

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I have type 2 diabetes controlled by diet and tablet medication, I was told back in 2005 by my doctor.

I have informed DVLC and they were only concerned I was taking insulin for it which I am not.

However my question is if do I need to inform my motor insurance company. I am getting the maximum no claims discount and pay a lower premium but if I am to inform them, then that will increase my premium quite considerably.

I have been driving since 1980.

I am reading articles which are saying that diabetics need to let their insurance company know without them needing to ask - is this the case.

Thanks

Steve

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Hi Steve, yes you need to tell them. It then does not give them any excuse not to pay up for an accident, by claiming you have an undeclared condition.

scottish-jim

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
As CarbsRok says you do need to tell them. However there should be no increase in your premium as they cannot discriminate.

June_C

Type of diabetes
Prefer not to say
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Diabetes, know it alls
I contacted my Ins Co as I'm a T1 on insulin and their reply was, "We don't need to know unless the DVLA has put restrictions in place" or words to that effect. I got the impression that if the DVLA were happy for me to drive, then they were satisfied.

June_C

Type of diabetes
Prefer not to say
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Diabetes, know it alls
As CarbsRok says you do need to tell them. However there should be no increase in your premium as they cannot discriminate.