Egg sandwiches

puppykins

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi. Having just been diagnosed with IGT, I was wondering if it would be safe for me to eat white bread once or twice a week. I usually eat wholemeal bread [which I've read is almost as unhealthy!] , but I'm rather partial to Tescos egg sarnies which are made with white bread. Sorry if this seems a silly question, but I'm new to all of this and I just want to make sure I'm not putting my health at risk by eating all the inappropriate foods.o_O

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 2 people
A

AnnieC

Hi. Having just been diagnosed with IGT, I was wondering if it would be safe for me to eat white bread once or twice a week. I usually eat wholemeal bread [which I've read is almost as unhealthy!] , but I'm rather partial to Tescos egg sarnies which are made with white bread. Sorry if this seems a silly question, but I'm new to all of this and I just want to make sure I'm not putting my health at risk by eating all the inappropriate foods.o_O
Don't think it would hurt just once or twice a week if you really love them

collectingrocks

If IGT means gluten intolerance, then perhaps bread is your enemy. What symptoms do you get? But I'm all for "everything in moderation" so once or twice a week...why not?

puppykins

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
If IGT means gluten intolerance, then perhaps bread is your enemy. What symptoms do you get? But I'm all for "everything in moderation" so once or twice a week...why not?
It's Impaired Glucose Tolerance I suffer from, collectingrocks.:(

Mud Island Dweller

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
An awful lot.
Easy way get a meter test pre and 2 hrs post should help decide either way.

Mud Island Dweller

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
An awful lot.
umm a blood glucose test prick finger put spot of blood on test strip in meter and read.