Janr20

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Needlephobia giving insulin
Hi all

Looking for some advice re impact of exercise on blood sugars and on my Lantus and NovoRapid insulin.

Started x2 sessions Monday over 50s Senior Circuit gym for one hour Monday mornings. Followed by "trike session" X1 hour on Thursdays to work on my balance and proprioception issues.

Goal is to enjoy South America and Machu Picchu at the end of the year. Weight has been increasing so no snacks between meals.

Lantus evening dose is 46 u will I require more or less daily over time?

NovoRapid evening meal 9u - 17u based on blood sugars not carbohydrate. It's easier for me to work out since I had a stroke as I'm not good with numbers.(calculating)

What can I expect if I continue this regieme ? What will happen with my blood sugars during the day time after exercise? Will I require less insulin ? Is there a possibility of more hypos ?

D

Deleted Account

Exercise and diabetes do not have a simple relationship.
In general, exercise make our bodies use insulin more efficiently.
However, if we are stressing our bodies, we need more insulin.
As a result, when I start a new exercise, my BG goes up but, once I become used to it, my BG goes down.
Always, my BG reduces a few hours later.

It is difficult to make recommendations for your exercise because it depends on your body, your diabetes and your fitness: heavy to one person is as light as a feather to the next, fast to one person is as slow as a snail to the next, a long exercise to one person is a quick sprint to the next.

As with all new things with diabetes, the trick is lots of testing. Test before you start, test half way through (or between your Circuit and Trike session), test when you finish, test an hour later ... and test if you feel "odd". Keep your hypo treatment with you during your exercise, just in case.