Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi, I am fairly new to my diagnosis of Type 2 Diabetes (September 2017) and have managed to lower my HbA1C to 38 through diet and Metformin and have also lost a little over 2 stone in that time. I am having awful problems with fatigue and lack of energy not relating to food (I mean I'm not lacking energy because I'm hungry, the periods of fatigue can last days or weeks). I just want to know if this is a 'normal' part of being diabetic?

For a bit of background info I have quite severe mental health issues but am being treated for that and am quite far on in my recovery. I also have underactive thyroid so take Levothyroxine for that and need B12 injections every 3 months because of a deficiency in that. My thyroid and sugar levels have both been checked recently and are fine. I've had fatigue relating to depression etc in the past but this doesn't feel like that did - it feels physical. Everyone keeps saying how well I'm doing with regards to my health and weight so I am confused what's causing me to struggle so much. It sometimes feels like there's so much going on with my mental and physical health I'm unable to figure out which symptoms are coming from where and what the best course of action is.

I've booked an appointment with my GP for a couple of week's time because the fatigue is disrupting my daily life. I am on disability benefits as I am currently unfit to work but even the basic chores around the house can leave me exhausted. Even if I sleep well I wake up feeling like I haven't slept. My whole body feels achey pretty much all the time. I've read through the symptoms of ME/CFS and experience nearly all of them but am worried about broaching the subject with my GP because I don't want to make a fuss about the fatigue if it falls under a diagnosis I already have.