Fed up

Kittym80

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi sorry to moan but don't know who to talk to. I was diagnosed type2 about a month ago. I was put on 500mg metformin and now increased to 1000mg. I completely freaked out and have felt stressed and depressed since. I do have good days but generally don't feel great. I was signed off work for 4 weeks and have been going back to work on a phased return but can only cope with a half day ( I work in a school). When I come home I need to sleep. I'm overweight and have to lose weight but that isn't so easy coz of other health issues. Some people have said to me that 'its no big deal' and i ' just need to exercise and cut out sugar!!' But to me it does feel a big deal and scary. I'm also confused by all the different diet information I've been given. I'm not sure what I can snack on mid morning that will keep me going. Any ideas? Thanks xx

Prem51

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Hi @Kittym80 and welcome to the forum. It is a shock when you get that Type 2 Diabetes diagnosis, and it does take some time to get your head around it all.
You don't say what your other health issues are, but if you are able to adopt a Low Carbohydrate High Fat (LCHF) approach to eating, you should be able to lower your blood sugar levels. Many of the T2s on here have reduced theirs, and often weight too.
Have a read round the threads to see how it works, and ask anything you want to. The people on here are friendly and supportive, and you will get a lot of good advice.

Do you know what your HbA1c (blood sugar) test result figure was? If not you should ask your GP surgery for the results as you need to know where you are starting from.

Reactions: ziggy_w

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.