MissZButler

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
When my blood sugars don't behave!
Hi everyone,
I'm new to using the Freestyle Libre - and was diagnosed with T1DM in February.
I've been finding that the libre has been really off in comparison to my finger prick readings - especially at night time before bed. For example tonight my Libre is reading 3.8, but I do not feel as though I am having a hypo and I have really good hypo awareness usually. When I've done my finger prick it is say 7.2.
It can cause quite a bit of anxiety as I don't want to go to bed worrying my reading are low - but been waking up in the night to check with the finger prick and have not had night hypos.

Does anyone else have these issues? Thinking of coming off my libre as it seems to be not very helpful in terms of getting accurate readings.
Thanks in advance

MarkHaZ123

Iv not long started on the libre. On my third patch now and Iv not had any issues like you have. Maybe it's the sensor and you need it replacing? Possibly ring Freestyle and speak to them about it?

I know readings can be a little different as the time delay on them can be 15 mins

I generally find my reading arent far off at all thankfully and with my work and sport I do it's a great thing to use

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
Is this your first sensor?

There are duds every now and then. Sometimes it also comes more closely into line after 24hrs or so.

Some people wear them for 24hrs before activating them to allow them to ' settle in'.

MissZButler

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Is this your first sensor?

There are duds every now and then. Sometimes it also comes more closely into line after 24hrs or so.

Some people wear them for 24hrs before activating them to allow them to ' settle in'.