1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2020 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Freestyle Libre very inaccurate??

Discussion in 'Type 1 Diabetes' started by MissZButler, Apr 2, 2020.

1. MissZButler

MissZButler Type 1 · Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to using the Freestyle Libre - and was diagnosed with T1DM in February.
    I've been finding that the libre has been really off in comparison to my finger prick readings - especially at night time before bed. For example tonight my Libre is reading 3.8, but I do not feel as though I am having a hypo and I have really good hypo awareness usually. When I've done my finger prick it is say 7.2.
    It can cause quite a bit of anxiety as I don't want to go to bed worrying my reading are low - but been waking up in the night to check with the finger prick and have not had night hypos.

Does anyone else have these issues? Thinking of coming off my libre as it seems to be not very helpful in terms of getting accurate readings.
    Thanks in advance

2. MarkHaZ123

MarkHaZ123 · Well-Known Member

Iv not long started on the libre. On my third patch now and Iv not had any issues like you have. Maybe it's the sensor and you need it replacing? Possibly ring Freestyle and speak to them about it?

I know readings can be a little different as the time delay on them can be 15 mins