Gained weight, but 'lost' A1C. Reassurance needed, please.

briped

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Dear all low-carbers.

Yay, FBS was 4,7 mmol/L this morning, the lowest in years, but OhNo, I've gained almost 2kgs since Monday. What's going on?

Since the end of March I've been cutting back on carbs, and have lowered my A1C from a whopping 13,4 mmol/L to an average 6.5 mmol/L, or an estimated A1C of 5.7% according to my app. I'm very happy with that result, so I decided to go a little further.

Yesterday I decided to challenge myself to go below the 20 g of carbs/day. My total ended up on 19,77 g - not counting the full fat cream I put in my tea.

I'll admit that I'm not good at these calculations, but I gave it a go anyway.

Breakfast: 110 g of home-made rhubarb somethingorother + 80 g of cottage cheese = 6.76 g of carbs.

Lunch: 250 g of fried mushrooms (raw weight), 5 very thinly slices of bacon (we export all the good rashers to you guys) and two eggs. Made this into an omelette frying it in butter. I still felt hungry!!!, so I had 50 g of almonds. Lunch total 8.31 g of carbs.

Late emergency tea (10:30pm) of 2 slices of roast pork with mayo and mustard. I cut the fat away as it was too gross. Probably 0 g carbs. For good measure I had 100g of full fat Greek youghurt = 4.7 g carbs.

No doubt yesterday's effect on my BS was a success with an average of 5.6 mmol/L, but I know that my weight is closely tied in with my BS or vice-versa, so why am I suddenly gaining, when you lot are losing weight? Should I really add more fat to my diet in order to feel full? I can't have more veggies as they would send me above the infamous 20 g. After day 1 of this experiment I'm already beginning to feel it's not do-able, and that perhaps I should aim for below 50g/day instead. I'm way past menopause, so I can't even use that as an explanation for my apparent weight gain, as I would have done years ago. :angelic: