Going low

Lisaopp

Hi
I'm new to type 1, or LADA. I'm honeymooning and trying to gather as much info as I can.
If someone is taking fast acting, meal time insulin, would they go low in their sleep?
Why do people go hypo, and how can you avoid it?

Thank you.

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
Hi, it is possible to hypo whilst sleeping and it happens because you have too much insulin in your system.

You will get used to the way your own body responds to carbohydrates and insulin. It can be harder to control during the honeymoon when your body is still trying to do it's own thing.

Accept that a hypo probably will happen at some point and be prepared. Keep a sugary drink (regular Coke, orange juice, Glucojuice if you can afford it) nearby. And a source of longer acting carbs like a biscuit of some description is always useful.

Check your blood sugars regularly, and be prepared. Be lucky!

Last edited:
Reactions: Lisaopp

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. Yes you can go hypo whilst sleeping so ensure you have been told about carb-counting and injecting the right amount of meal-time insulin to cater for that. If in doubt go a bit lower for the last injection before bed-time and obviously test before bed. The liver is quite good at dumping emergency glucose when needed but not if you have been drinking alcohol.

michita

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
to avoid having a low while asleep (or in general) i eat low carb (less insulin, smaller error also shorter time fast acting insulin is on board ) and eat dinner early in the evening so I don’t go to bed while fast acting insulin is still in board.

I’m adult onset type 1 diagnosed 3 years ago and low carbing since. In my case, eating low carb works well, hypos are mild and rare.

Reactions: Lisaopp and Suz2

Lisaopp