hbA1c and Freestyle Libre

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Was diagnosed T2 back in June and had an hbA1c of 67 mmol/mol (10.6%).

Just retested at my GP surgery and it's down to 42 mmol/mol (7%).

I'm absolutely chuffed and put this down to 500mg of Metformin twice a day, lots of exercise and reducing my carbs and sugars considerably.

One thing I was disappointed with though is that I've been using the Freestyle Libre for about 3 months and this was predicting an hbA1c of 32 mol/mol (4.9%). I've literally been using it 50-100 times a day, so have been really surprised that it is clearly testing so low.

Kind of makes me question the libre's effectiveness, other than to measure up and down trends.

Had it been 32 (4.9%), then I'd have considered dropping one of the Metformin tabs and continue monitoring with the libre - but now I'm thinking I should maybe keep to taking both doses and just drop the libre use, and wait for my next appointment with the nurse in March.

Anyone got any thoughts or advice on this?

D

Diabeticliberty

Yes your Libre is wildly inaccurate but don't feel too bad about it cos so is mine. I have been attempting to raise the predicted A1c point to the Abbott Cheerleadiing Troupe for approximately 2 years now and sadly they just stick their digits in their ears and talk really loud. My own predicted A1c reading from my own Libre is 34 my actual is 46. You may get some users suggesting that you are wearing the wrong coloured socks when you swipe your arm or not smiling when you apply a new sensor or maybe its the phase of the moon. I'm sure you get the general idea :)

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)