Help With Buying Pre-made Lunches

Busyatom

I've recently been diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes and am trying to get organised with food.

I have a very busy life and little time to cook. I work a demanding job full- time, and end up working evenings and weekends, I'm a single mother of two primary-school-aged children, I'm studying a 1 year MBA and I volunteer on several different community groups.

Cooking just isn't something that I have a lot of time for, and I've been quite exhausted anyway, as I'm currently quite anaemic.

I've figured out breakfasts and evening meals, but I commute and hour and a half to work and I just don't want to have to carry in lunches and have little time to make them anyway. I've tried batch cooking and it isn't working for me.

So - I need to find lunches I can just buy. I have a Sainsbury's, M&S and a Tesco very near work and I can go to any of them. I'm still quite confused by how to choose healthy diabetic-friendly meals.

Can anyone advice on sandwiches/ready meals/ soups / salads that i can just buy and take to work?

Any help would be most welcome.

x

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Packs of cooked meats are pretty useful.. pork scratchings, ready made salads, cheeses - M&S do quite a few low carb type meals (assuming that is the dietary way you are going). Personally I would avoid anything with bread or bread like wrappers ready meals and the like as they are usually filled with extraneous carbs and or sugar.

Reactions: Busyatom

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only