Help

cratat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
being diabetic, struggling with food choices
I've just had my hba1c results and it's not good gone from 57 to 68 was before that 77 so I now have 3 months to get it below 50 need help with food choices and snacking currently have alpo yoghurt and granola for breakfast banana mid day snack fast food for lunch orange mid afternoon mixed nuts about 5pm home cooked slimming World tea about 730pm

Drinks are 2l water and 2 500ml diet pop (don't like tea or coffee) during day

Do snack when bored on biscuits and sweets (no this isn't good) but must be some that are OK.

Wanting help with choices for lunch that are grab and go both hot and cold as leave house at 0530

Current weight 20st 10lbs and height is 6' 6"

Thanks

Craig

Sent from my PRA-LX1 using Diabetes.co.uk Forum mobile app

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I'm no expert (yet!) but I have spotted some foods in your list that are high carbohydrate. These carbohydrates will turn to sugar in your body. Biscuits and sweets you've identified as bad yourself. But other baddies are cereals, so your granola isn't good for you, oranges and bananas are high in fruit sugar, berries are better. I'm not sure about SW meals, they may be low in calories, but do they include rice, pasta or potatos, as they are all high carbohydrate. Your fast food lunch may not be good either depending what it is?
On my work days I box up a salad, chop up different salad ingredients into bite size pieces then add, chicken, ham or salmon, you could prepare this the night before. Nuts are a good low carb snack, you could try berries as I've already mentioned or pork scratchings for something savoury. M&S do something called Crackle crisps, they are basically fresh flat pork scratchings, they are in the fridge. A bit pricey but good for an occasional treat.