Hey Gardeners..

A

Anonymous

I guess there must be some keen gardeners on here..

I'm a novice, but I'm trying to plan my veg patch with my new diet in mind (no spuds this year).
The veg patch is 8'x8' and is currently covered in clear polythene, warming up. I should have some cloches being delivered tomorrow which will cover about 1/2 or 2/3 of it. Unfortunately 1/3 of it is shaded by a hedge a bit.

I am thinking some fancy Lettuce (Lollo Rosso maybe), Swiss Chard, Spinach, Rocket (I love Rocket) and Beetroot.

What else ??

dawnmc

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Have a look at rocket gardens to give you some idea. Also google square foot gardening loads of info. I grow loads in my patch and pots. And I'm now awaiting an allotment.

Sid Bonkers

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Customer helplines that use recorded menus that promise to put me through to the right person but never do - and being ill. Oh, and did I mention customer helplines :)
Slug pellets swimmer, thousands of em :thumbup: I tried growing veg last year and everything I grew got eaten right back to the stalks by snails and slugs

dawnmc

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Not slug pellets, beer pots but remember to empty them

daisy1

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Cruelty towards animals.
Slug pellets are not recommended as the hedgehogs eat the slugs who have eaten the pellets then die :cry: unless someone has now invented slug pellets which do not kill hedgehogs ?

A

Anonymous

Depending on what kind of slugs - My hedgehogs doesn't touch those Spanish *#¤%¤*s. Suffering a massive invasion here and read somewhere that hedgehogs eat slugs. Yay!!!