Hi All

ditzeeblonde

Hi Everyone

I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes on New Years Eve.. so having just had my first week trying to get my head around everything thought I would seek out a forum.

Today was the first day really that the enormity of what diabetes could mean if not controlled really hit me... think I've been gliding along completely distracted by pricking my fingers & now its hitting home!

I'm on metformin which combined with the fact I have been low carbing seems to be doing the job... but thats only my very 'diabetic virginal' opinion... will feel much better if my nurse confirms it on Monday!! (snow permitting I can get to her)

I have just started reading 'The first year type 2 diabetes & have got Diabetes for dummies (for my OH :wink: ) but am looking forward to the information that I'm sure will be gleamed from this site!

Have a good weekend.

Linzi. xx

Ardbeg

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Self serving politicians
Hi Linzi.

I'm a newbie with similarities to yourself. I was told I probably have T2 (after they looked at blood and urine samples) by an A & E doctor on new years day, after I went there because my iritis had flared up. Went to see my GP on Monday and did the fasting bloods which I have to go back next Thursday for the results, to see the diabetic nurse, etc.

In the meantime I discovered this forum, have pestered the life out of the moderators with my newbie questions and spookily enough, today my Amazon delivery arrived containing the very 2 same books you have bought.

I haven't bought a meter yet as I want to wait and see what happens with my visit to my GP next week. I'm hoping to control mine with diet only but I'm open minded enough to try other treatment if recommended by the experts.

Good luck and stay positive. :D

pavlosn

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi Linzi

Sorry to hear about your diagnosis. I bet that put a damper on your New Year's eve celebrations.