Type 2 How long before Metformin changes my bs?

Maris Piper

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I’ve been taking 500 mg/day since 14 April and been testing my bs since March 2020 on an ad hoc basis The past couple of weeks I’ve been testing my bs before and after meals etc and I can’t see any change ( except lots of holes in my fingers!). It’s still the same as it was before starting the Metformin. I have been eating a low carb diet since March 2020. My GP told me my diabetes is either genetic or age- related ( I’m 75) I have no symptoms apart from the hba1c test (67) in April. My fasting bs is between 8 and 10 and during the day it goes up and down but by the end of the day it’s pretty similar to the fasting result regardless of how far I’ve cycled or what I’ve eaten. Advice please!

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I’ve been taking 500 mg/day since 14 April and been testing my bs since March 2020 on an ad hoc basis The past couple of weeks I’ve been testing my bs before and after meals etc and I can’t see any change ( except lots of holes in my fingers!). It’s still the same as it was before starting the Metformin. I have been eating a low carb diet since March 2020. My GP told me my diabetes is either genetic or age- related ( I’m 75) I have no symptoms apart from the hba1c test (67) in April. My fasting bs is between 8 and 10 and during the day it goes up and down but by the end of the day it’s pretty similar to the fasting result regardless of how far I’ve cycled or what I’ve eaten. Advice please!