How to test systematically

Lupf

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I am a type 2 diabetic. As I mentioned in other threads on this forum, I have lost 10kg with 5+2 last year and I was also able to reduce my Hb1Ac so that I am off metformin now. When I received the test strips a year ago, I wasn't really given any instructions. As a scientist I know that you have to do measurements systematically. I was weighing myself once, max twice a week in the morning before breakfast thus decided to do the same with blood sugar measurements. However I have also been told in this forum that I should test before and after eating to find out what effects different food is having on me. As we are house bound due to the coronavirus pandemic - I am working from home - I could actually give this a try now. Thus I have a few questions on how to do these measurements correctly and systematically.
1) How much time after eating should I test, how critical is this timing? I've seen two hours on this forum, but I've also seen graphs where after 2 hours the levels are back to normal.
2) What is a good result, i.e. how much increase is ok. My pre-breakfast measurements are around 6.0 mmol/l with a standard deviation of about 0.7 mmol/l.
3) Should I do similar double tests before and after dinner.
3) Can you please point me to links where good procedures are written down. I would like to see some analysis of data as well.

D

Deleted member 308541

1) How much time after eating should I test, how critical is this timing? I've seen two hours on this forum, but I've also seen graphs where after 2 hours the levels are back to normal.
I test my post prandial bgl within a 2 - 2½ window, it works for me.

I cant help you with your other stuff.

Reactions: Lupf

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin