hypo after every meal.....

jonesy

at the moment my son is having a hypo pretty much after every meal. i have started carb counting, using a ratio of 1/20 or 1/25 (still experimenting a bit here). so, a lot of meals are only 3 units of novorapid. however within an hour after virtually every meal he has a hypo, going as low as 2.2, usually 3.0 - 3.5. but, then during the second hour after his meal, his bg rises, sometimes to double figures.
i need to explain...if his hypo is not below 3.00 i treat with minimal glucose and no carb snack (1 or 2 glucose tabs). if it is 3.5 i don't treat and get him to rest for a few mins and no carb snack, as i know this second hour rise in bg is coming.
i am new to all this but, could it be possible that my son (9 year old) could be taking over an hour to two hours plus to break down his carbs into glucose?? this would explain the hypos maybe. if his insulin is acting way before there is any glucose in his blood then surely this would happen, with a surge an hour or so later when the glucose comes.

is that a crazy idea??

jonesy.

NickW

Hi jonesy,

Sorry to hear your son is having these problems.

To be honest there could be a few different explanations. It could be that the ratio is too high (i.e. he's taking too much insulin), which is causing the hypo; the later rise could be caused because the liver will release glucose when he goes hypo to try to combat it, and it often over-compensates.

Or it could be that the glucose is being released slowly and the insulin is acting quickly, as you suggest. The type of carbohydrate (high-GI vs. low-GI )and what it's eaten with can affect this massively (e.g. eating fat with any source of carbohydrate will slow down absorption, sometimes significantly).

Or it could simply be that you need to give the injection slightly later than you currently do, so the food has slightly longer to get into his system before the insulin kicks in.