I'm Confused With My Bs Readings

jenner68

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
As a Type 2 my BS were going over yesterday and I was getting somewhat frustrated, however I tested my BS before I went to bed and it was 4.1 and my True Metrix Air monitor readings when I synced it with my IPad said it was a hypo. I had a couple of biscuits and a drink and my readings went up to normal. What does it mean if I am a type 2 but my readings go low?.

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
May I ask what meds (if any) you are taking?

Cybersight

Type of diabetes
Type 1.5
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Diabetes
Maybe you over did it with exercise or not enough cabs to exercise ratio It's great that you are dong this by diet just monitor the carb intake on them low days and see if that's what made you go low. it could just be that yesterday your boby used more than usual. I'm no expert but I'm sure advice will follow soon.

Reactions: jenner68

slip

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
4.1 isn't hypo (technically! - anything under 4 was labelled as hypo but that's recently changed apparently and 3.5 and below is now classed as hypo - but I guess it all depends on who you're asking/speaking to), I suspect your Ipad app has the hypo warning set slightly higher - maybe because you are on hypo inducing medication? Normal T0ds can drop into the high 3s without an issue.

But of course there's always the +/- 15% leeway a BG monitor is allowed to be out so your BG could have been lower or higher too!

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Your profile says you aren’t on any meds so if that’s right you’ve no need to treat a level of 4.1 as a hypo. If you feel ‘hypo’ it’s most likely that your body isn’t used to being that low, it’s called a false hypo.

jenner68

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only