Joint pain, metformin, generally not feeling well

Ca12

Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello so I was diagnosed with having reactive hypoglycaemia a few months ago after 3-4 years of symptoms and I no longer seem to be going down in the 2's and more in the 3's. Ill even get symptoms in the 4's after a crash. I go no higher than 16 mmol/L. I still spike and when I do I get burny stingy sensations on my finger tips. I also get this when I crash.

Anyways I've been noticing for a few months now that I've been getting sore joints. My ankles and finger joints. When I hold my phone my wrist starts getting sore as well. Its like a burny swollen type feeling ( they don't appear swollen ) , a feeling of fullness Its hard to explain like aches. My gp has tested my bones from a blood test nearly 2 weeks ago and said that they'll ring if they find anything wrong with them and ive got no phone call.

As well after eating something that'll cause my blood sugar to spike I will get a mild diarrhoea and it isn't pleasant.
I try my best to stick to diet I've been gave and its miserable and I'm miserable ( and I still feel awful ) constantly and I suggested metformin to my gp and she said it would be a possibility and I was wondering if anyone else has experience with it.

• Hug
Reactions: MissMuffett

Ca12

Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
Diet only
I've also found out someone in my second cousin has RH, was misdiagnosed for years as type 2 diabetic but is now on tablets and 1 injection everyday. I haven't been able to speak to her but hoping to be able to at some stage.

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
Hi @Ca12 and welcome to the forums.

I'm going to tag @Lamont D who knows a lot about RH but in the meantime can I ask what sort of diet you have been given? I know a number of the RHers here control their condition by limiting carbs....

Once more, welcome

Lamont D

Oracle