Loss of C & D entitlements

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Moaning
Hi all, I am a newly diagnosed T1. I inject and take gliclazide. I have just had a letter from the DVLA, who are restricting my licence to 3 yrs, which I'm fine with; however the real bummer is that they are removing my entitlement to drive c1 & d1. I am a school teacher and I regularly take students out on trips.
I appreciate the risk however my lowest reading has been 3.8 since I was diagnosed on 11/3.

I'm a bit shocked by this decision and wondered if anybody knew what is the best way to challenge this decision.

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Alanp35

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cricket, golf
Saddened to hear this,but it has happened to us all, insulin users that is. It's the rules. I have heard, however that there is a review underway whereby our licences would be good for 10 years, instead of the current 3. Perhaps this may be reviewed at the same time.

Late onset T1, several auto immune issues.
Humalogmix25 twice a day, Methotrexate 25mg once per week, FolicAcid 5mg once per week, prednisolone 5mg daily, Allopurinol 300mg, Calcichew-D3 800iu, Levothyroxine 50mcg, Atenolol 50mg, Losarten 100mg, Aspirin 75mg, Nicorandil 20mg, Nitrolingual GTN spray, Metformin 2000mg, Allimemazine 10mg, Lanzoprazole 30mg, Atorvastatin 20mg, Co Codamol 8/500mg, Depo Medrone (Methylprednisolone) or double Prednisolone for 7 days in case of RA flare.

Reactions: 2 people

mo1905

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Rude people !
If this is recent then it's because you need to provide 90 days worth of BG readings and attend a medical with DVLA approved doc. Once this is completed satisfactorily, you should get entitlement back. Get in touch with DVLA and they will inform you of paperwork required and next step. It is standard procedure unfortunately.

Reactions: 5 people
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Moaning