Low/ high blood sugar

Margo749

Hi.
I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes 2 months ago. I'm 44 not overweight by much and have an active lifestyle. I'm taking 3 metformin a day. My count was 98 on the day I was diagnosed. I keep a check usually on my morning(b4 coffee) blood sugar. It is usually between 6/7.5. Yesterday I was put on keflex antibiotics for a kidney infection. Today my bloods are dipping and rising like crazy. I'm going from 4.3 to 16.8 in a few hours. Had low gi roll with ham mayo and lettuce(usual lunch). Just wondering if anybody knows, do antibiotics affect blood sugars?
I'm very new to all this and still learning. Tbh i have never watched my diet before or thought of calories or carbs, today is the first time I've heard about low carb diet being good for diabetes. The leaflet I got from nurse in my Dr office says complete opposite to what I've seen on dietdoctor. Going to join dietdoctor and see does it help.
Sorry for long winded post but just bit worried about the spikes in my BS. I've never gone so low before and I feel quite dizzy and nauseous:grumpy: with it. Also my BS has never been this high when I checked them either.
Any advise to deal with this?
Thank you
M

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Usually a type two diabetic does very well by restricting the amount of carbs eaten - I would not eat a low GI roll as they are not low carb - a lot of us lament the protein rolls Lidl used to do - but there are more low carb alternatives around now.
I tend to stick to foods which are 10 percent carbs or less, and have a daily limit of 40 gm of carbs - it seems to be working so far.

Margo749

Thanks for reply. It is the Lidl low gi rolls I have been using up in till now. Reading this forum today has been a real eye opener for me. I was worried about the spikes in my blood sugars today and was wondering has anybody experienced this from being on antibiotics?