NewTD2

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Is it safe for T2 to drink Lucozade when feeling weak or hungry?

I know it’s OK for T1s, but how about T2s?

I’m still learning, please advice!

Last edited:

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Well by now you should know that Type 1's use it raise their blood sugar when low so.....unless you are having a hypo it's not a great idea for Type 2's.

Reactions: dbr10

hankjam

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
There are a number of preconditions in this question.
As T2 I never make any comments on anything to do with T1, for me it's a whole different ball game and I certainly wouldn't make such a sweeping comment on them.
T2's. weak or hungry, I would suggest, are not the same and how any one person would get to either place could differ.
I wouldn't touch the stuff.
If this site tells you anything as a T2 it is: test and see for yourself, as you might be different (or we are not all the same)
Why would you ask?

lucylocket61

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I can only speak as a T2 who is not on any medication. My personal experience is that, if i wait for about 15-20 mins, resting if possible, and eating something low carb (preferably protein) if possible, my liver kicks in and my shakyness goes. Even if i dont eat, it still passes and my sugars stabalise.

I have found, over the past 6+ years of being T2 that the lower my base blood sugar level on a daily basis, the fewer shaky episodes i get, unless something happens like a panic attack or sudden emergency.