Manual Job.

David Wass

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I've just been approved a grant for an insulin pump due to me getting hypos for abour 10-12 hours a day 5 days a week and lantus can not be reduced anymore.

I have a physical job which includes heavy lifting and walking.

Can someone please explain which insulin pump they found most useful i.e don't get in the way.

I was thinking omnipod but heard that accucheck offer a slightly bet insulin pump but with a wire and was apprehensive the wire would get in my way.

Or are there any others apart from them two which i should consider.

Thanks

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
No experience of the Insight pump or any other for that matter, but I've been using the Omnipod pump for just over 2 years now and have to say its an excellent pump, I opted for it because it was a tubeless/patch type pump.

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I've just been approved a grant for an insulin pump due to me getting hypos for abour 10-12 hours a day 5 days a week and lantus can not be reduced anymore.

I have a physical job which includes heavy lifting and walking.

Can someone please explain which insulin pump they found most useful i.e don't get in the way.

I was thinking omnipod but heard that accucheck offer a slightly bet insulin pump but with a wire and was apprehensive the wire would get in my way.

Or are there any others apart from them two which i should consider.

Thanks

I have an Animas Vibe and find it robust. Yes, it has tubing but it sits under my clothes so it's not a problem. I don't have a manual job though so I guess it would depend on what your job involved. I like my pump because I can move it about as required throughout the day.

There are people here who have the Insight and find it ok, but I hated it. It's also had a number of alerts. Only my personal opinion, but I wouldn't recommend it.