Morning Glucose Readings

Johnjoe13

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I'm still pretty new to all this testing even though I got diagnosed T2 about six months ago. Only joined this site Dec 6th and recently started testing mainly to see what them Carbs are doing so I know how to structure my diet. Anyhow I've been testing first thing at like 6am ish, what you call fasting test? and then again when I get to work before I have a cupa and a biscuit. can anybody explain why the second reading is always higher? like this morning it was 6.8 at 6.15 but then at 7.30 it had gone up to 8.7 like what's that all about when i've had nothing to eat? Or is this suppose to happen and if so can you explain why?

PenfoldAPD

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Welcome to the site! Higher readings are often due to the Dawn Phenomenon - also called Liver Dump - which leads to higher BG. Fasting tests is often referred to as FBG and many people post theirs on here, I aim for something in the 5s and I am happy.

Am sure someone who can explain the Dawn P more than me will be along soon, many people find eating a small amount of protein before bed helps suppress it.

Johnjoe13

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Welcome to the site! Higher readings are often due to the Dawn Phenomenon - also called Liver Dump - which leads to higher BG. Fasting tests is often referred to as FBG and many people post theirs on here, I aim for something in the 5s and I am happy.

Am sure someone who can explain the Dawn P more than me will be along soon, many people find eating a small amount of protein before bed helps suppress it.

Thank you, I've only been testing a week now and my FBG as you call it as never been below 6 but always higher amount an our or so after when I test before the first thing I eat and drink. Think i've seen something on liver dump somewhere but can't remember so must not have been paying attention, will look this up and see.