My experiences of Keto diet and taking 10 mg Empliflagozin daily.

BigAlan

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Stupid people.

"Intelligent people are being silenced so that stupid people are not offended."

Author unkown
Ok, I've tried dropping carbs before but like many the lure of a carb laden meal is just too much.

I have a brilliant diabetic nurse who is actually a type 1 so I can have research orientated, indepth discussions freely and without ridicule by the

" Well I have a 4 hour session diploma in diabetes so I know more than you" nurses.

Fast forward to this year, 01.01.2024 and I am giving low carb another go but this time it is going to be easier as my wife is going to help me, she will have carbs without ne seeing them.lol.

So, i started on NYD with 30g of carb and now with constant measuring, weighing of foods, making a diary entry it's getting easier yesterday, 02.01.2024 it was 23g carb and ketones were 1.5mmol/l.

Today has been horrendous. In absolutly full keto mode now. Pain, headaches, gut aches, dizziness and more.

I had 3g carb for breakfast at around 10.15 hrs. I also had my meds, INCLUDING 10mg Empliflogozin as normal.

Nothing else until feeling right full on **** in asda at 16:00 hrs. The feeling was so bad I bought some glucose sweets and at 17:00hrs my blood glucose was still only 6.1. Normally at this time of day it would be around 8.2 so I estimate that my sugars were really low, probably down under 4.

My ketones, admittedly by dipping urine were 8mmol/L.

After evening meal I've had 23g carb today and im back to normal so to speak.

I'm going to replicate and continue this tomorrow to see if it replicates itself and if it does I'll see about removing the empliflagozin.

Take care.

Alan.

MrsA2

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
@BigAlan
:mad:
I really can't support your strategy.
You are on a medication that has a risk of DkA. ( I sent links to you on another thread)