Newbie, frustrated with doctors! haha

newnat

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Hi all,

Newbie here. Do not think I have full blown diabetes of the sorts, but have struggled with feeling sick all of the time for several years now, which has worsened.

I decided to join here to learn for myself how to assist my condition, after I went to a doctor and was told that "lots of young girls I see complain about blood sugar and don't have any problems" and was told that I just need to eat better.

I said to the doctor that when I feel sick I have milk, juice or coke and he told me my diet is unhealthy.

I was quite upset as I have been managing my sickness eating a moderately low carb diet (usually eating carbs 1x a day), vegetarian etc. and I have sugar like coke when I feel frightfully ill.

I have a whole host of issues including feeling constantly hungry (but not feeling like eating) where I feel sick to my stomach, feel really weird feelings all over my body... my eyes and thinking processes get very blurry, my emotions change.. I get frustrated.. I would describe the feeling akin to feeling alarm bells in my body.

I eat smaller meals regularly (which I have to monitor), but my doctor said I shouldn't "snack".

Needless to say I felt so dismissed, that I left crying. As this sickness has been pretty intense lately.

I am vegetarian, and try to avoid sweets and breads (not strictly lately, but I limit carby sweets to max 2x week).

Yesterday was my birthday and I had 3/4 a bottle of apple cider, then went walking with my boyfriend for about 20 minutes.. and I felt so bad I had to sit down. After I sat down I felt like i could not get up.

The doctor kept pushing and prying when I talked about the feeling of "exhaustion".. he kept saying where is it. I kept telling him that my whole body feels it.. and there are no proper words I have to describe the intense feelings I get when I need to eat something.