1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2019 »
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Type 1 Newbie having a basic comparison what is best question

Discussion in 'Ask A Question' started by spage, Oct 13, 2019.

1. spage

spage LADA · Well-Known Member

IMG_2995.jpg

I’m new to insulin etc. Usually weetabix or porridge I’m starving about 1.5-2 hrs after.
    I was looking up high protein cereals and compared it to my wheat biscuits. The left is the high protein granola and right 2 Tesco wheat biscuits doesn’t include the 180ml skimmed milk I have with it.

I know the granola is higher fats calories sugars etc but it’s a lot higher proteins so my way of thinking is it would keep me fuller for longer. Granola served with FF Greek yoghurt which also contains high proteins and fruit?

Am I being thick

2. sportyboston

sportyboston Type 1 · Member

Hi Spage
    I can't comment on which would be better as I cannot eat either. Too carby for me. Breakfast for me consists of two eggs, smoked salmon and tea with unsweetened almond milk. Good Luck!

3. Diakat

Diakat Type 1 · Moderator
    Staff Member

Surely you just have to try it and see what works for you?

• Agree Agree x 3
  4. Juicyj

Juicyj Type 1 · Moderator
    Staff Member