Newly diagnosed

martin2410

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi all,
Ive just been conformed as having type 2 diabetes and started on Metformin tablets. As a lorry driver, I could really use as much info as I can get. Im not seeing a nurse untill another week, so as you can imagine, Im full of questions and nobody to answer them. The main question being, do I need to inform my motor insurance and will i need to pay extra? Ive spoke to DVLA and they said they dont need to know officially but will update my record anyway.
So, if yopu know something I might need to know but will probably forget to ask about, I would really appreciate any info you have,
Thanks a lot people.

Yorksman

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Daisy will post some general info for you probably tomorrow but as far as driving is concerned, most insurers don't put the premiums up if you are just on metformin. You still need to tell them though. Some of the very cheap online quotes that people get have everything stripped out and they do look for excuses to start clawing money back, but normally insurers are only concerned when the DVLC start placing restrictions on your driving. Someone else will probably be better informed but that tends to be when you start to need insulin injections.

Although you have lots of questions and there is a lot to take in, you can do it at your own pace. Months go by between appointments and visits. The best thing you can do is read a little about foods. Daisy will have some info in her post along with some links.

martin2410

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Thanks yorksman.
1 question that I've just remembered is what does metformin do? I've noticed that since being on it, if I don't eat at the right time, I feel quite strange, a bit shaky, can't see properly. Is this a hypo? I never seemed to go like that before I started on the metformin. So does it lower the blood glucose level? Should I carry sweets or a chocolate bar for this occurrence?