not taking insulin

vickiec

Type of diabetes
Type 2
once again my son has not been taking his insulin this time it has lasted 4 days uses pump but obviously not at the moment his consultant tells me to butt out and let him work things out for himself hes 15 and very nasty i am a nurse so do know the dangers just need some advice how to handle this :( :(

Synonym

Dislikes
Having no energy as this is so limiting.
Don't really know anything useful about T1 and insulin but as a mum and granny I know a bit about boys and teenagers! :roll: :shock:

We pretty soon learnt that automatically anything we, as mere parents, proposed the diametrically opposed position was always taken. If we ever wanted to push an idea or a direction we had very good friends who took it on and very tactfully and confidentially chatted things through with whichever 'child' needed a prod. We learnt to keep well out of it even to the extent of being devil's advocate and putting the opposing view so that at least it meant that all was considered. :roll:

Your biggest problem is that you are a nurse and are frightened for your son but you can't 'gift' him your experience or knowledge unless he is willing which he clearly is not. :(

Do as the consultant asks so that he can do his job. :)

vickiec

Type of diabetes
Type 2
thanks for that response he uses his diabetes to get his own way like can i have a new mobile phone and i'll take my insulin again he holds a gun to my head as i of course want him to be well and even though i can afford it i'm just not doing it any more it's killing me to see him like this but i have to make a stand even though i can see him becoming more and more poorly :( :(

Synonym

Dislikes
Having no energy as this is so limiting.