Pastries and MDI!

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Real random question

But pastries! Do they show up immediately in blood sugars or are they like bread and take a while to show? I’m not sure how to bolus one if I do it before or half and half like a pasta/pizza? my 7 year old son is MDI.
He always tanks into a hypo after school, so I’m not sure what to do as I don’t want to bolus and him tank as it takes a while to show up. Thank you.
It says 22 carbs, 11g fat but 4x times blood sugar.
He’s only been diagnosed since March so I’m still learning so sorry for the silly question.

Attachments

• 250668EA-FEF2-4ED0-8022-D37DF2ED3929.png
    250668EA-FEF2-4ED0-8022-D37DF2ED3929.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 89

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hello @MeMyCatsAndMyBooks

Tbh I find both breads and pastries tend to hit me within 5-10 minutes - Pizza is split due to the fat from the cheese delaying carb absorption.

If he's hypo-ing every day after school then his insulin needs reducing as it's a repeat pattern and we should act on repeat patterns, but you will need advice from your team in regards to insulin changes if you're not comfortable doing this yourself - can you speak to his DSN ?

Reactions: Antje77

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I find it difficult to generalise of pastries because it depends how much fat they are made with and how much sugar is in the contents.
For example, a quiche or savoury pasty would be a longer digestion for me whereas a sweet Danish pastry would be quicker.
To be honest, I find the same true for bread - jam sandwich is much faster than cheese on toast.
Even pasta is down to the sauce: last night's puttenseca (tomato based sauce) had an impact my quicker than a carbonara (cheese based sauce)