Problem with pump

Shaggy_Dog_1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Ok, I'm relatively new to pump therapy, but I believe I've got my basic basal rate sorted. The problem that I have is this: whenever I eat, I bolus the correct dose of insulin, or at least what I believe to be the correct dose, and within an hour my BG readings are heading towards 20 mmol/l. I've wasted a few cannula believing that there must be a blockage, but no, nothing makes it any better. Any ideas as to why my BG would peak so high and so quickly, assuming that ratios and carbs are more or less correct? The effect is as if I've forgotten to bolus at all . . .

thanks

Simon

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Hi Simon,

20mmol/l is quite a spike, do you pre-bolus ahead of your food to give your insulin a chance to work? Many of us find that bolusing 15-30mins ahead reduces postprandial spikes.

Reactions: 2 people

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Firstly double check your basal, just in case :
Secondly what sort of waiting time are you using before meals ie., how long before you eat are you bolusing?
Thirdly what are you eating. It takes 2 hours for your insulin to peak unless using Apidra so 1 hour after eating seems very odd for such a hike.
What are your levels when you start to eat?

Reactions: 2 people

Shaggy_Dog_1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump