Pump or Injections?

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I’ve been using a Mylife Omnipod system for the past 4/5 years (I’m currently 18) and have started developing problems with it.

I am a horse owner and therefore I am outdoors, in the typical UK winter weather, for numerous hours in the day.
Every so often, when I’m out sorting the horses, my pod fails/screams at me to tell me that an occlusion has occurred.

These occlusions are either occurring because the pod gets too cold or it is getting knocked (I have tried them on my belly and leg).

I have been in touch with both mylife and my hospital. Mylife were rather unhelpful and just told me to keep it warmer. My hospital said that multiple people have been having the same problem.

I was just wondering; would I be better off going back to injections or sticking with the pods in my situation? (very active, hates having the pod stuck to me constantly, always gets the pod caught on tack etc).

Colin of Kent

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi Ashleigh,

I saw these OmniPods at a conference a few years ago, and they looked interesting. Personally, I'd be inclined to go for an ordinary pump. The tubing can be quite long, which means you can wear the pump almost anywhere on your body, i.e. somewhere it's less likely to get knocked. Many come with remote controls, too, meaning you don't necessarily have to have physical access to the pump most of the time.

My pump broke last year, and I went back to MDI for a few weeks. At first, it was nice not being connected to a device 24/7, but the novelty soon wore off, and I was grateful to be pumping again.

Hope you get a good solution soon.

Reactions: clarehayward

Engineer88

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
As above, I would have recommended an animas vibe but they have just stopped providing them.

I could recommend a Dana RS if you can hold on until April. I couldn't think of anything worse than going back to MDI.

Type of diabetes