Pumps And Mountain Biking

Chickenboy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi folks

I'm a newbie to this forum. I've been diabetic for 28 years and am currently managing on split Levemir and Fiasp. I'm a keen mountain biker and am now pretty used to managing my sugars during exercise by reducing basal slightly, leaving a good gap after bolus and also carb loading. Its a bit of a pain but it has been working for me. The biggest issue I have is dawn phenomenon and also blood sugars rising overnight when not exercising. For that reason my consultant has recommended I go on a pump. I also really see the benefits of this by being able to temp reduce my basal during periods of exercise. I still need to go through the "education classes" to tell me how to carb count (although Ive been doing this for years) and there is currently a 9 month waiting list for a pump in my area.

My biggest concern about a pump is due to my mountain biking and the potential for damaging the pump/me during crashes. I regularly race which which means pushing myself close to the limits of gravity and often take this a bit too far and crash. I've explored different options for storage and there look like some pretty nifty belts for keeping it close to the body.

I was wondering

a) Does anyone have any experience of wearing pumps for either mountain biking or other sports where there is likelihood of contact?
b) Do people know if you can get insurance for pumps? I'm worried at how expensive these pumps are, if I were to damage one I wouldn't be able to just get a new one from the NHS and it would be prohibitively expensive to replace it privately.

Thanks in advance! :):)

Reactions: Juicyj

porl69

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Stupid people
Hi @Chickenboy and welcome to the forum. I will tag @helensaramay to come aand give some advise on this as I know she is pretty active and also wears a pump.