Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Highs and lows
Hi All
I have only been diagnosed for 3 weeks
I have grasped carb counting and insulin doses really quickly, mainly because I had been using nutritional info for the past 2 years to lose weight and generally improve my diet.
My DN has put me on basal bolus, with Lantus before bed and nova rapid to offset the carbs as fast acting insulin
I have been using 12 units of lantus before bed each night since I was released from hospital and this had been working well, pre bed and post bed levels within 1.5 mmol/l of each other
However the past 3 days I have been getting some low BS readings and have had 4 hypos in the past 3 days, none of them serious but none the less a little worrying.
The main time seems to be 3 to 4 hours after my breakfast, standard breakfast for me is 30g of frosties or rice krispies, both of which are around 32g of carbs including the milk.
Is it ok to just not take insulin for this meal to stop myself dropping low??

Sorry this is such a long thread but wanted to get all the details down

Look forward to some helpful responses form you guys

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Do some basal testing first, my guess is you need to reduce it, read the following on how to do this:

http://www.salforddiabetescare.co.uk/index2.php?nav_id=1007

However, you could try not taking your Novo at breakfast and see how you get on but that won't stop the hypo's at other times if your basal is set too high.

mopsy21

Hi Type1Bri