so very many questions...

lalaleroux

Hi...like so many, I am new to this and was virtually thrown into the deep end of the pool with no lessons.

I have all kinds of eye issues and during one of many dilated eye exams, the eye doc pushed away from me and asked if I had diabetes. When I answered no, he said you should go to your regular doc and get checked out. So I did, and low and behold I did. Funny thing, even under hard scrutiny I seem to have had no symptoms that would have caused a second though even when the doctor and I talked about it. I was a bit overweight (that pesky BMI thing had me at 26%) and I have lost something like 13 pounds. Between stress, and probably a lot of fear about eating the wrong thing the weight just disappeared.

Anyway, this was in October. There was a class I could attend, but it wasn't until the end of this month so that would have been two full months of zero info and medication I knew nothing about. Y'all don't know me, but I am one of those who research things to death (how I found this forum) and learned a great deal. Next visit to doc, stomped my feet a bit, had a bit of a hissy fit and got an appointment with a Certified Diabetes Instructor that helped answer more.

For now, I test all things, all the time. I figure (after reading here and agreeing) that the only way I am going to know how my body reacts to food is test to see what by body is doing with the food I give it. I think based on the numbers I see I am doing okay for now (I'm in the US so my numbers are different than what I see here) based on the charts (I have been using the endocrinologists numbers) and my doctor seems very happy. I haven't had a second A1C test yet, so I don't know how these numbers will translate yet.

I am taking Metformin (2000) and not formally doing low carb, but average about 20-25 per meal.