Spikes After Exercise

HSSS

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I'm new to diabetes, monitoring and exercise. T2 no meds. I’ve been eating low carb/keto for about a month with initial weight loss of 4kg but nothing for the last week or so.

I’ve notice a walk or a swim will drop my BG. I just started using my bike and even though I’m really not riding hard or fast, but I can feel it in the muscles and am a little puffed whilst doing it, it has raised my BG. Usually only by less than a mmol but would have dropped by that amount over that time normally instead as I typically exercise 2hrs or so after a meal. Today I checked another hour later and it was down on the previous hour by nearly 2mmol

Now I know this isn’t unheard of but I really don’t understand it. Why does my body think it needs to dump glucose (from my liver I assume? But I thought being keto meant little glycogen stores) if I’m getting energy from fats. Is it ok because overall the exercise will do me more good than the spike will hurt? Can I do anything to prevent this spike and still get the exercise benefits? Should I fill up on fat or protein beforehand? Or even a little carbs?

Last edited:
D

Deleted Account

When we exercise, our body does two things whether we have diabetes or not
- it becomes more efficient at using insulin
- it thinks we will need extra glucose to provide the energy to maintain the exercise so dumps some from our liver

For those with healthy pancreas (without diabetes), their incredibly clever pancreas would adjust their insulin production to match these exercise effects and they would see little impact on their BG.

For those of us with diabetes the short term impact on BG would depend on the type of exercise, how long we do it and how fir we are (at that type of exercise).