Still campaigning

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
I think I've written that I am a retired science teacher. I still do an occasional day of work "on supply", to top up the piggy bank. Yesterday was one of those days. I spent it with a group of year 5 children in a lovely primary school. It was fun. Still, since they didn't call me until after 8 am, I wasn't there in time to do the morning register. I had a great morning, including playground duty. Happens every time. My blue painted toenails ( this is me!what else??) aparently marked me out as "Cool". After lunch, I picked up the register to find a slip in it about a child in the class, who is diabetic and describing her care. Her parents do her injections before and after school. She's been diabetic since age 4. I did the register, settled the class for silent reading and went and chatted to Ellen explaining that I'm like her. Her best friend sitting beside her said" See!I said so, I saw the bracelet" I asked Ellen about her numbers and they all sounded very high to me. That morning's had been 16. Everything written in the register was about avoiding hypos. It seemed to me that someone's gone too far the other way, but on a morning's acquaintanceship I felt it wasn't my place to upset anyone. I asked her if her Mummy would be offended if I gave her the title of a helpful book. she said not, so I gave her the title of Bernstein.