R2T2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Winter, war, pestilence
Hi everyone,
This morning before breakfast (Greek yoghurt with 8 grapes and a tiny banana) my BG was 4.9. I've just tested it again (approx 2 hrs later) and my BG is now 4.4.
I thought it was supposed to go up not down when you eat?

I'm still new to this testing lark so I'm finding this result a bit confusing.

Is it because of the Metformin? (I take one 500mg with breakfast and one with my evening meal).
:confused:

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I would be more than confused, I would be totally amazed if that happened to me!

You say you tested again approximately 2 hours later. Was this 2 hours (approx) after your first bite, or after you had finished eating? That makes a difference, and with a banana and grapes, if it were me, I would expect my spike to be within an hour of my first bite. Bananas convert to glucose very quickly, which is why athletes eat them during competitions. How approx was your test, and did you do a re-test to confirm the reading?

The Metformin will have had no affect on your level. It doesn't work that way. It works on the liver mostly to help reduce the amount of glucose the liver produces naturally in times of stress or starvation.

Reactions: 2 people

R2T2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Winter, war, pestilence
I would be more than confused, I would be totally amazed if that happened to me!

You say you tested again approximately 2 hours later. Was this 2 hours (approx) after your first bite, or after you had finished eating? That makes a difference, and with a banana and grapes, if it were me, I would expect my spike to be within an hour of my first bite. Bananas convert to glucose very quickly, which is why athletes eat them during competitions. How approx was your test, and did you do a re-test to confirm the reading?