Student Designing a Medication Cooling Rucksack

ianfrid

Hi,

I am a 21 year old Industrial Design student from Kent and I'm in my final year of University at Loughborough.

I plan to design and build a Medication Cooling Rucksack which will allow users to travel wherever they like without the worry of having to find a place to refrigerate their medication.

I want to veer away from the traditional "ice packs and cool bag" route, as I understand the ice packs often freeze the medication or do not last particularly long, together with condensation issues.

I plan on designing a visually appealing medium sized rucksack with a lower portion dedicated to the medicine cooler and the top portion storing whatever the user chooses. (Clothes/books etc) The rucksack will have a battery pack which will feed the small refrigeration unit with a selection of solar panels designed into the back allowing the battery to be topped up while outside.

I hope for an embedded power lead which can be plugged into the mains supply/car supply for longer charging periods.

I am currently in the brainstorming stage and require your thoughts/opinions/information.
A few specific questions I have at this stage (sorry for my ignorance :-s)....

- Am I correct in thinking that certain types of diabetes medicine do constantly need to be kept cool? What are the specific names of the meds?

- How big do you think the cooling chamber would need to be? I was planning for around 25cm wide, 15cm tall, 15cm deep? Will this fit the certain types of medication which require refrigeration?

- Is there anything else aside from the cooler which could be useful on a rucksack? Design features, shape of pockets etc?

Again, any thoughts/comments/questions/suggestions are really much appreciated.

Cheers

Ian

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.