Success! (Yippee!)

Claire87

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
Brain tumours
I just got back from the doctor's and my blood work is 'normal'. This could be classed as diabetic remission, but I've been told I have to keep that blood level for a year before I'm allowed to call it that. But basically, in my eyes, it's remission as long as I stick to my low carb diet. So, I'm overjoyed by that!

For those who want to know how it happened, well here's the story:

I'm new to diabetes, just three months in as a Type2 diabetic. I got lucky on day one because a friend of mine (who is a dietician) pointed me towards the Bergstein diet. After three weeks (and 10lbs lighter), of being on it, my doctor threw away the prescription for pills that they had made for me and let me try out this diet for three months. So, I was on a test run to see if I could make the diet work for me.

I started out on no more than 20g of carbs a day to make my body stop using carbs for energy and start using fats instead. Because it was easy and I wanted to get rid of diabetes, I stuck to no more than 20g of carbs a day. I haven't counted calories or done much exercise (although I did mean to and recommend that other people don't follow me in that). I've regularly lost 2lbs a week since the beginning at a steady rate. I'm still on 20g of carbs a day until I hit my target weight. I've lost 30lbs so far, so there isn't much left to go.

Once off the diet, my plan is to keep the carbs low, but not as low. I don't know what level to go with, but I suspect it will keep the weight off up to 100g a day. To be honest, I'm not too bothered by having carbs ever again, I just don't want to keep losing weight when I come off the diet. So I'll experiment with that later on.