Type 1 Support

Hello
my partners was diagnosed with type one diabetes in March this year. Since his diagnosis he’s just sort of been given his injections (4 times a day) and his tester and sent on his way. He has checkups every so often but that’s about it. I feel like there has been a huge lack of support with it all mentally and in regards to information given. For him his whole life has changed and he is struggling mentally to cope with it. When I spoke to one diabetic nurse she said there is a lot of support for people under 18 but once over you’re considered an adult. For me this wasn’t helpful as when under 18 parents are there a lot to help with the burden it can be. Over 18 it’s all left down to that one person who ends up feeling like they’ve failed when something goes wrong. No matter what reassurance I can give I’m no expert and I can’t provide the kind of mental support that is needed. Just feel really let down with the system as no one seems that genuinely interested In how he is coping with everything. He’s now feeling very alone in it all.
Any advice would be great, going to try look into counseling as that seems our only route for emotional support at the moment.

Reactions: urbanracer

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
Hello