Tea With Milk

Rosieroo

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi all
As like many I love my morning cup(s) of tea. I've started to use my fitness pal to try and help keep track on my diet and control sugars. I am new to it and trying to hang of it.
Well I had three cups of tea this morning and when I put it in the app it said ideas 30grams of carbs ??? Is this right ? I guess it's the milk . I only have a splash as I like my tea strong. Obviously if this is too much I'll reconsider what I'm drinking

rosco 2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Milk spikes me too. I tried whipping cream as that has less carbs than other milk or cream, I watered it down but was nauseated by the globules of fat floating on top. Now I just have tea and semi skimmed milk maybe twice a day. Stuff it, I can’t give up everything!

Reactions: Serena51
D

Deleted member 308541

I only have a splash as I like my tea strong. Obviously if this is too much I'll reconsider what I'm drinking
Just drink it black with minimal or no sugar in it, you get the full flavour of the tea then.

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
I have roughly 30g of carbs per day, to get that from milk I would have to do a Cleopatra and bathe in the stuff.

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Carbs and cals say 2g per cup with milk.

rosco 2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Btw...I use xylitol for sugar in my tea. Xylitol solution with lemon juice to make squash. Ditto with unsweetened chili sauce to make a sweet chili sauce. Xylitol can give you the demon sh*ts so don’t indulge if you are going anywhere without loo access!

Mr_Pot

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only