To test or not to test...

DiabeticGeek

Hi People,

I am new here, and this is my first post. Indeed, I am very new to diabetes - I was diagnosed with Type II a week and a half ago, and I have yet to figure out how this is going to change my life.

So far, I have had one 10 minute appointment with a GP and a half hour chat with a nurse. Most of what I was told I already knew (although I'm not a medic I have a background in biomedical sciences, and many years ago I did research in an area that was not entirely unrelated). However, one thing that they said surprised me - they were both adamant that I should not get into self testing. The GP gave two reasons for this - one is that blood glucose levels are constantly changing, and that unless I tested "every 10 minutes" it would be impossible to get a meaningful picture, and the other was that people who test tend to record their glucose levels but not do anything about it. I am somewhat skeptical about both of these arguments, and would be very interested to hear what people think.