Trying low carb but losing too much weight

Kamrita

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi. I'm new to all this but have seen recommendations for the low carb diet. I started reducing my carb intake a few months ago and find that it has helped my blood sugar readings. My problem is that I wasn't overweight to begin with and have lost almost a stone in that time. I'm 5'6" and am now close to 7stone which is a bit lighter that I would like. I'm beginning to look a bit haggard (!) and don't have much energy. Does anyone have a suggestion on how I can get my weight up a bit without raising my blood sugar levels.

Reactions: Prem51 and Snapsy

ellagy

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
I am wondering if you should add more fat to your diet?

Reactions: Freema

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. It's always possible you are Late onset T1 and not T2; mis-diagnosis is common. Losing weight unintentionally when already low is one strong pointer to T1. Do ask your GP for the two tests for LADA i.e. GAD and c-peptide. He may not know what these are or refuse but do challenge the T2 diagnosis. I had to have the two tests done privately as my GP was pretty ignorant about diabetes. What meds are you on? Do ensure anyway that you have an adequate amount of protein and fat.

ChrisSamsDad

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
UKIP, royalty, football, gin, goat's cheese.
The Dutch have a word that applies here, I think - LuxProbleem - a luxury problem (like having too much money)

You simply need to up your fat intake I think - you don't have to just eat butter out of the packet - there's a wide choice of things you might not think of as fat(ty) - Avocados, Nuts (expecially Macadamia). there's also cheese of course, but you would need to keep a high proportion of your fat intake as Omega 3s, generally from fish, eggs and nuts.

Reactions: Prem51

Freema

Expert
Type of diabetes