Two Insulin’s??

Libby3781

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I’m new to insulin, only been taking it a month. Taking Levemir last thing at night.

On my last hospital appointment with the diabetic nurse, she advised it’s quite likely I’m going to require another insulin injection with my food. So far taking metformin twice a day, and a dose of insulin last thing at night isn’t bringing my levels down enough.
Thank
Has anyone got experience of having two insulin’s to take?

Please can someone give me some names of insulin that would be secondary ones?

If you’re in this position have you seen a difference?

Thanks all in advance x

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Almost all type1's are either on two insulins or a pump. It's called a basal/bolus regime or MDI - multiple daily injections. It means you dose your mealtime insulin according to the amount of carbs you'll eat, just like the pancreas does in non diabetics. You also need to take account of your current blood sugar when deciding on a dose and on things like exercise.
It may very well be that you'll start out eating meals with the same amount of carbs so it's easier to find out the right insulin doses for you. They might be different through the day as well: I need a lot more insulin for the same amount of carbs in the morning than in the evening.
It will take some time to get the hang of it, that's fine. A big help with learning to dose would be a CGM or FreeStyle Libre. That would allow you to see what diffent foods, amounts of insulin and exercise do to your bg, making it easier to change something next time.

I have been on NovoRapid and am now on Fiasp, next to my long acting insulin, but there are more brands.