Type 1 & intensive workout

Hello all, I am new to the forum. I have had type 1 for about 10 years and have been getting on ok and have not had any problems before.

Recently I have started a pretty intense workout schedule; it's called "insanity" and is heavy cardio for about 45mins. My routine is test blood, do workout, test blood, eat main meal.

I have done this twice, and before I start my blood is fine but after it has rocketed- yesterday my meter just read hi. I have brought it down sensibly and waited up for a few hours to test before I goto bed. However the last 2 nights I have had hypos- fortunately I wake up easily so thru are never too bad.

I am doing this for fitness not to loose weight- I am a good size. I guess my question is how do I manage this better? As a biologist by trade, I have a relatively good understanding of *why* this I a happening- glycogen breakdown and not enough insulin to absorb the released sugars. Furthermore, I appreciate that your blood needs to be good before you start the workout.

Any tips, similar experiences and remedies would be gratefully received- thanks

ElyDave

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I wouldn't do anything personally, unless I were experiencing adverse effects.

I'm a lot newer to this than you , but I'm in the position of trying to fit diabetes into an existing sporting regime. It sounds like this insanity stuff is doing the same for you as a set of running intervals or cycling time trial for me, it's high intensity aerobic and dumping glucose into your body due to the adrenaline etc.