What Am I Missing Here?

feniangirl

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I don't quite this know where to begin. I am a relative newbie here, although I have been reading as much as I can. (@daisy1, please note, I have read the excellent welcome info you give everyone, so no need to repeat. Thanks.)

I suppose the beginning is a good place to start. 21 May 2018 I was diagnosed with T2, H1C 6.8 (HBA1C 50.8). The nurse in my doctor's office rang to inform me and said thaqt I needed to eliminate potatoes, rice and pasta from my diet and she was writing a prescription for Tradjenta® (linagliptin) 5mg. That was it. I started reading everything I could find and much of the information was contradictory. I finally decided this was the best site for information and support, as it is coming from real people with the same problems.

I want to get off of the meds and be able to control my T2 with diet. (Need to add that I have a few other issues as well. COPD - on oxygen, high blood pressure - on medication, high cholesterol, A-fib - medication, sleep apnea - CPAC machine, and kidney disease - the side effect of a medication). The T2 is what has me the most concerned.

I have been monitoring everything I eat. I test my glucose when I first wake up, 2 hours after breakfast, before lunch, 2 hours after lunch, before dinner, two hours after dinner and bedtime. I have cut down on carbs dramatically. At first I was down to under 100, then down to under 50 and now trying to keep it at around 20. Sort of anal retentive, huh?