What's the right balance?

VikkiB81

Afternoon! When I started LCHF I was aiming at under 90g of carbs a day but to be fair I was having around 50g-60g. In 6 weeks I'd lost a stone and my Hba1c had dropped from 61 to 52! My weight loss over the last 3 weeks has stalled and I'm not completely sure why. I put in a tracker my food for today including what I plan to eat later and its 44g of carbs, 49g of fat and 56g of protein. Calories are only 809. I have changed what I was eating as I was bored of the keto style porridge I was making for breakfast and I was snacking out of the peanut butter (natural) jar in the evenings so I stopped buying it! I'm aware I'm not consuming enough calories but I don't seem to be able to get a handle of the right balance of macros. Any advice would be appreciated. I really want to be out of the diabetic zone and need to loose another 2 stone before my wedding in October!

Roggg

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I'm not an expert, but I'll throw my understanding out there. For best results you need less carbs and more fat in your diets, as well as more calories. Here's why:

While you are certainly low-carb, you're not low enough to switch over to burning fat as a primary source of fuel, so your body is still expecting to use sugar as fuel, and is less efficient at burning fat because insulin is still driving those pathways. As a result, your constant low calories diet makes your metabolism drop rather than burning body fat.

I would personally recommend you drop your net carbs to about 25 if you can, and eat a lot more fat. My wife and I are both doing Keto with great results without restricting or even counting calories. We count net carbs, and put reasonable limits on proteins. We eat fat without limit. Bacon and eggs, cheese, etc... It's not very hard to stick to.

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only